Vatterott OKC Paralegal Studies

We don't teach you what to think. We teach you HOW to think.

Semicolon – It’s Your Friend!

You need to learn to use a semicolon.

The Promiscuous Writer

It really is your friend.  It’s not hard to use.

My rule is relatively easy.  I won’t go into telling you about related independent clauses because then you will ask, “What’s an independent clause?”

If you have a longer sentence that includes:

  • but
  • and
  • however
  • furthermore

And such and such…you, too, can use the semicolon.

  • I taught for four hours today, but I don’t feel like I accomplished enough.
  • I taught for four hours today; I don’t feel like I accomplished enough.

 

  • I am watching Judge Alex while writing this blog.  However, you should know I’m really bored.
  • I am watching Judge Alex while writing this blog; you should know I’m really bored.

You can use it for choppy sentences as long as they relate.

  • I am drinking a Dirty Shirley. It’s mostly gin.
  • I am drinking a Dirty Shirley; it’s mostly gin.

Got it?  Good!

View original post

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

